Outlook Calendar Permissions

Outlook Calendar Permissions

Outlook Calendar Permissions

When you initially share your calendar with people, you're only granting them permission to view the calendar. You can choose what level of detail you want them to view:

  • Availability only. They can only see which times you're available, like this:

    What your calendar looks like to the person you shared it with.

  • Limited details. They will see availability and the subject, like this:

    What your calendar looks like to a user when you share it with limited details.

  • Full details. This will see all details of your appointments, just like what you see.

After you give someone permission to view your calendar, you can increase their permissions so they can do more besides just view it. Here are the permission levels you can assign; see the next section for how to change/assign permission levels.

With this permission level (or role)

You can

Owner

Create, read, modify, and delete all items and files, and create subfolders. As the folder owner, you can change the permission levels that other people have for the folder. (Does not apply to delegates.)

Publishing Editor

Create, read, modify, and delete all items and files, and create subfolders. (Does not apply to delegates.)

Editor

Create, read, modify, and delete all items and files.

Publishing Author

Create and read items and files, create subfolders, and modify and delete items and files that you create. (Does not apply to delegates.)

Author

Create and read items and files, and modify and delete items and files that you create.

Contributor

Create items and files only. The contents of the folder do not appear. (Does not apply to delegates.)

Reviewer

Read items and files only.

Custom

Perform activities defined by the folder owner. (Does not apply to delegates.)

None

You have no permission. You cannot open the folder.

You can also create custom permissions by selecting the appropriate check boxes and options under Permissions.


Change/assign permissions after you have shared your calendar with other people

You can change calendar sharing permissions.

  1. Click Calendar.

    Calendar command

  2. Click Home > Calendar Permissions.

    Calendar Permissions button in Outlook 2013 Home tab

  3. On the Permissions tab, make any changes to the calendar sharing permissions.

    Calendar Sharing Permissions tab in Outlook 2013

  4. Click OK.